Skip to Main Content
Audience Engagement, Fan Engagement, Industry Analysis Articles, Media & Tech, Media & Technology

20 Numbers From The T20 Blast

We take a look at the numbers behind this year’s shortened and re-vamped T20 Blast, which took us into October – giving us our latest-ever finish to an English cricket season.

By: Dan Atherton

20 – Ian Cockbain (Gloucestershire) and Joe Clarke (Notts Outlaws) were the only batsmen to register 20+ sixes in the 2020 T20 Blast, with both men launching 22 of them.

With this in mind, it’s unsurprising that they were two of the three batsmen with the highest strike rates this summer among those to score at least 200 runs.

19 – Jake Ball claimed more wickets than any other bowler at the 2020 T20 Blast – his 19 scalps played a significant role in Notts Outlaws’ success.

His numbers were superb in 2020 and when we compare them against his previous campaigns, it’s clear to see that this summer saw him display his very best work.

18 – This was the 18th edition of the English Domestic T20 Competition. The tournament has managed to produce 13 different winners across those 18 seasons.

English Domestic T20 Competition Winners

2014Birmingham (Warwickshire)

17 – Finalist Reece Topley logged 109 dot balls this season for Surrey, 17 more than any other bowler across the 2020 season.

Reece Topley 2020 T20 Blast

Although you’d be right to point towards the fact that his side played from start to finish, culminating in a defeat at the hands of Notts Outlaws, it’s important to stress that his dot ball rate was up there with the very best too. Only Durham’s Matthew Potts (43.9%) managed to record a better dot ball rate than Topley among those to bowl 20+ overs this summer.

16 – Wisconsin’s Ian Holland managed to score 16 runs from scoop shots for Hampshire, more than anyone else in the competition. The American, who has made eight ODI appearances for his country, attempted the stroke more often than anybody else in the 2020 T20 Blast (eight times).

15 – Leicestershire Foxes only bowled 15 wide deliveries over the course of the 2020 T20 Blast, three fewer than any other outfit. They also recorded the fewest no-balls (just one).

14 – 14 men managed to hit 300 runs this season in the T20 Blast, with Kent Spitfires batsman Daniel Bell-Drummond at the helm. DBD managed to score his 423 runs at an impressive strike rate of 154.9.

2020 T20 Blast Top Scorers

BatsmanTeamRunsStrike Rate
Daniel Bell-DrummondKent Spitfires423154.9
Stevie EskinaziMiddlesex413148.0
Luke WrightSussex Sharks411137.0
Ian CockbainGloucestershire399169.8
Chris DentGloucestershire371153.3
Joe ClarkeNott Outlaws371175.0
Alex LeesDurham365125.9
Laurie EvansSurrey363153.2
Hamish RutherfordWorcestershire Rapids352160.0
Zak CrawleyKent Spitfires342156.9
Ben DuckettNott Outlaws340137.7
Jake LibbyWorcestershire Rapids318137.1
Will JacksSurrey309149.3
Adam LythYorkshire Vikings308157.9

13 – Surrey trio Will Jacks, Rory Burns and Daniel Moriarty made more appearances than anyone else in this summer’s T20 Blast (13 games).

12 – While Dan Christian rightly drew much acclaim for his four wickets in the final for Notts Outlaws against Surrey, it is worth noting the contribution of teammate Samit Patel. Patel logged more dot balls than anybody else during the final (12), and that tally was the most he’d recorded in any game this season.

11 – 11 brave men attempted a switch hit this summer, with just 21 attempts in total between them. Outlaw Ben Duckett topped this list with five attempts at playing the shot. Given how rarely it was played, it is surprising to note that nobody was dismissed playing the stroke.

10 – Alex Hales (Notts Outlaws) recorded 35 boundaries across his 11 knocks in the T20 Blast in 2020. 77% of his runs this season came from boundaries, the highest share of any batsman.

Alex Hales – T20 Blast 2020

ShotAttemptedBoundariesBoundary %
Upper Cut11100
Late Cut11100

9 – Surrey went into the final against Notts Outlaws having put together an impressive nine-match winning run.

Surrey – T20 Blast Recent Results

September 3, 2020South GroupHampshireW
September 5, 2020South GroupMiddlesexW
September 11, 2020South GroupEssexW
September 14, 2020South GroupMiddlesexW
September 16, 2020South GroupSussexW
September 18, 2020South GroupHampshireW
September 20, 2020South GroupKentW
October 1, 2020Quarter FinalKentW
October 4, 2020Semi FinalGloucestershireW
October 4, 2020FinalNottinghamshireL

8 – Although Lancashire Lightning failed to lift the trophy this year, they once again proved their T20 credentials as this was their eighth Finals Day appearance – the most by any side.

T20 Finals Day Appearances

TeamFinals Day Appearances

7 – Gavin Griffiths (Leicestershire Foxes) had the best economy rate in the death overs during the 2020 T20 Blast among those to log 36+ deliveries between overs 17 and 20 (6.7).

Gavin Griffiths Death Overs

He managed that impressive rate despite going against the commonly held belief that you must be able to have a good yorker to bowl at the end of an innings. Griffiths didn’t bowl a single yorker this year at that point of a game. In fact he pitched 74% of those deliveries on a good length – no player had a higher rate.

6 – Gloucestershire made T20 Finals Day for the first time since 2007, ending the longest wait among the four sides to appear in the 2020 edition of the competition (Surrey, Notts Outlaws & Lancashire Lightning).

Best Economy Rates 2020 T20 Blast

BowlerTeamBalls BowledEconomy Rate
Tom SmithGloucestershire2465.9
Josh CobbNorthamptonshire1566.1
Max WallerSomerset2046.2
Jake LintottBirmingham1806.3
Luke ProcterNorthamptonshire606.4

Tom Smith, a canny slow left-arm bowler was the only man to finish the summer with an economy rate of below six in the T20 Blast (10+ overs).

5 – Yorkshire Vikings were the tournament’s entertainers this summer with the bat.

T20 Blast Most Sixes Per Innings

TeamSixes Per Innings

They averaged just shy of six sixes in every innings across the T20 Blast, the highest share recorded by any outfit. Conversely, Hampshire had the lowest rate – posting half the number (three per innings) on average compared to the Vikings.

4 – Chris Dent (Gloucestershire) and Stephen Eskinazi (Middlesex) were the top run-scorers in four T20 Blast matches in 2020, the joint-most recorded this summer. They played 11 and 10 knocks, respectively. In fact, Eskinazi was responsible for just over a quarter of Middlesex’s total runs in the 2020 T20 Blast (413/1,628) – the highest share by any batsman for one side.

3 – Adam Hose became only the third batsman to post a T20 century for Birmingham Bears (Brendon McCullum in 2015 & Ian Bell in 2018).

Adam Hose Wagon Wheel v. Steelbacks

Hose’s 119 off 64 balls against Northamptonshire Steelbacks was constructed with the overwhelming share of his runs on that day coming on the leg side. That knock was the highest score of the 2020 summer and Hose’s best innings score in any format.

2 – Notts Outlaws secured their second ever domestic T20 trophy. Only Leicestershire Foxes have ever managed to win the competition more often (three times).

T20 Blast – Most Seasons Won

TitlesCountySeasons Won
3Leicestershire2004, 2006 & 2011
2Hampshire2010 & 2012
2Northamptonshire2013 & 2016
2Nottinghamshire2017 & 2020

1 – The 2020 campaign was the first in the competition’s history to have a washed-out Finals Day. The three games took place on the reserve day, and the semi-finals and final had their overs reduced to 11 and 16, respectively.

Enjoy this? Subscribe to The Analyst to receive five stories each Friday from Stats Perform. It’s free.